Historic Locations > Lorenzi Park
Lorenzi Park was the vision of David G. Lorenzi, a French immigrant who purchased eighty acres of property about two miles west of the original townsite in 1912. The park opened as Lorenzi’s Lake Park in 1926 with a pool, dance pavilion, lakes and orchards. The property sold in 1940 and became Twin Lakes Lodge, a resort getaway with a 48-room hotel. In the 1950s, Twin Lakes hosted scientists and their families working at the Nevada Test Site. The site is linked to the larger histories of dude ranching and divorce in Nevada. The motel played an important role as divorce seekers obtained their needed residency at the motel. The motel also hosted visitors from around the country seeking a real "Western" experience offering horseback riding, rodeo events, fishing, and authentic food. The remaining motel buildings and the continued fishing in the two lakes create an important glimpse of Las Vegas's past. The Las Vegas City Council approved the request to designate Lorenzi Park as an historic district on May 20, 2009.
Lorenzi Park Nomination Reports